Flemish Association

of Classics Teachers

 

Welcome   Association   Journal   Activities   Education   Links   Contact

 

Association

 

 

 

 

 

Characteristics and functioning

 

The Flemish Association of Classics Teachers (in Dutch Vereniging van Leerkrachten Oude Talen, hence the abbreviation VLOT), a non-profit organization, was founded officially on the 1st of February 1996, the day on which its articles of association were published in the supplements to the Belgian law gazette. It is the only association for classics teachers in Flanders.

 

The primary objective of our association is to bring together secondary education classics teachers across all educational systems. Interested people can also become a member, if they subscribe to the association's objectives and articles.

 

Our association strives for a diverse board of directors, consisting of members from different educational systems. All members of the association can participate in the annual general assembly with a right to vote. They also have the opportunity to submit for membership of the board of directors, which is elected every three years by the general assembly.

 

The board of directors meets about every four to five weeks (except in summer holidays). All directors are honorary volunteers, who devote themselves to the association completely free of charge and who do not receive a single allowance for their mandate.

 

 

Objectives

 

The main objectives of our association are:

 

 

These objectives are achieved among other things as follows:

 

 

Our association is willing to support every initiative that aims for the interest in and the interests of the classical culture and classics education. It is willing to announce every activity concerning classical languages and culture in its journal free of charge.

 

In all its activities, our association explicitly works across educational systems.

 

 

Cooperation and consultation

 

Membership of other associations

 

Our association is a member of Classica Vlaanderen, the umbrella association with representatives of all institutions and organizations who occupy themselves with classics in Flanders (the educational guidance services, higher education institutions, universities, the education inspectorate, former students' associations, cultural associations, etc.).

 

Exchange with other associations

 

Our association exchanges the respective journal with:

 

 

 

Membership

 

The membership of our association includes the following advantages:

 

 

The membership fee of our association is 15 Euro a year. Whoever pays at least 25 Euro, is a supporting member. Students can enjoy a reduced fee of 5 Euro, on condition they provide our members' administration with a copy of their student's card.

 

 

 

VLOT vzw | Oude-Bruglaan 2 bus 402 | 9160 Lokeren | Belgium | info@vlot-vzw.be

Association Flamande des

Professeurs de Langues Anciennes

 

Bienvenue   Association   Revue   Activités   Enseignement   Liens   Contact

 

Association

 

 

 

 

 

Caractéristiques et fonctionnement

 

L'Association Flamande des Professeurs de Langues Anciennes (en néerlandais Vereniging van Leerkrachten Oude Talen, de là l'abbréviation VLOT), une association sans but lucratif, a été fondée officiellement le 1er février 1996, la date où les statuts ont été publiés dans les annexes du Moniteur Belge. C'est la seule association pour des enseignants de langues classiques en Flandre.

 

Notre association regroupe en premier lieu des professeurs de langues classiques dans l'enseignement secondaire de tous les réseaux éducatifs, mais d'autres intéressés peuvent aussi devenir membre s'ils approuvent les buts et les statuts de l'association.

 

Notre association aspire à une composition équilibrée du conseil d'administration, dont les membres viennent de différents réseaux éducatifs. Tous les membres de l'association peuvent participer à l'assemblée générale annuelle avec le droit de vote. Ils ont aussi la possibilité de poser leur candidature pour le conseil d'administration, qui est élu tous les trois ans par l'assemblée générale.

 

Le conseil d'administration se réunit environ toutes les quatre à cinq semaines (sauf pendant les vacances d'été). Tous les administrateurs sont des volontaires non rétribués, qui s'engagent tout bénévolement dans l'association et qui ne reçoivent aucune rémunération pour leur mandat.

 

 

Buts

 

Les buts de notre association sont:

 

 

Ces buts sont réalisés entre autres de la façon suivante:

 

 

Notre association est disposée à soutenir chaque initiative qui poursuit l'intérêt à et les intérêts de la culture classique et de l'enseignement en langues classiques. Elle propose d'annoncer gratuitement chaque activité concernant les langues et la culture classiques dans sa revue Prora.

 

A toutes ses activités notre association travaille formellement interréseaux.

 

 

Coopération

 

Affiliation d'autres associations

 

Notre association est membre de Classica Vlaanderen, une organisation de coordination avec des représentants de toutes les institutions et organisations qui s'occupent des langues classiques en Flandre (les services d'assistance éducative, écoles supérieures, universités, l'inspection éducative, associations d'anciens étudiants, associations culturelles, etc.).

 

Echange avec d'autres associations

 

Notre association échange la revue respective avec:

 

 

 

Affiliation

 

L'affiliation à notre association contient les avantages suivants:

 

 

La cotisation de notre association est de 15 Euros par an. En payant minimum 25 Euros on devient un membre sympathisant. Les étudiants peuvent jouir d'une cotisation réduite de 5 Euros, à condition qu'ils procurent une copie de leur carte étudiant à notre administration de membres.

 

 

 

VLOT vzw | Oude-Bruglaan 2 bus 402, 9160 Lokeren, Belgique | info@vlot-vzw.be